Make your own free website on Tripod.com
十方的印證

我的父親

美國加州洛杉磯譚渝英師姊

 我父親在出生三個月後就失去了母親,從小孤苦。他生逢戰亂,三十出頭就當了將軍,從小我只以為他那種凡事都得「絕對控制」的個性是由於他長年軍旅生涯所造成的將軍作風。當年他年輕氣盛,全家大小都被他弄得惶惶恐恐的,生怕會惹來狂風暴雨。直到最近我才瞭解父親是一個極度沒有安全感的人,所以才要處處控制,而這種沒有安全感可能要追溯自他嬰兒期起就已經烙印下來的陰影。到了他老年時期,很多事情都已由不了他了,於是他變得時時都惶恐不安,有錢不敢花,有福不敢享,總覺得他若不防範於未然的話,就會有應付不了的災難要發生。其實父親一生最大的災難是他自己緊捉不放的「恐懼」。

 一直到了父親印了心,以及母親往生的經過 ,帶給了他絕對的信心,他才得到他一生從來沒有過的安全感。父親完全變成另外一個人,他每一天都好快樂,即使是很小、很小的事物都會帶給他很大的滿足,他真是世界上最容易討好的父親,不論為他做什麼,他都像孩子一樣開心。他對生命充滿了熱忱,所以大家都樂於接近他,他愛生命、愛朋友,「愛」就像陽光一樣溫暖了自己也溫暖了別人。所有的這些轉變完全要感謝師父所賜給他之無價的禮物──無畏,讓他在失去老伴之後,還能享受到有生以來最美好的歲月。

 雖然已經85歲了,我父親的精神體力連我都自嘆不如,他每年都興致很高地在福爾摩沙、美國之間各處旅行,到各個兒女家小住。1995年底他由波士頓回到洛杉磯,第一件事就是吩咐小妹和我替他邀請所有的同修及準同修聚餐,他說要謝謝他們,因為每一個人都對他太好了。他處理好產權、還交代了身後之事,當時我們以為他只是找事做,並沒放在心上。到了1996年2月25日那天,上天下著雨,他照例跟小妹去道場共修、在車上和姑媽話著家常。開始打坐了,護法跑來找小妹,我們過去只見幾位師姊正在輪流為我父親做人工呼吸,我嚇呆了,小妹把我拉到一邊說:「哎呀,我現在才知道,三天以前爸爸說他見到化身師父來眨眨眼睛對他笑是為什麼了。」

 救護車來了,把父親載到了一間郊區醫院。下了車我馬上通知外州的大妹,她一聽,立刻說她去打坐,叫我等她的電話。幾分鐘後電話響了,她說:「爸爸已經走了,師父已把他帶到媽媽那裡,爸爸看起來好年輕,二、三十歲的樣子,他在上面興奮得不得了,像小孩一樣闖來闖去、東張西望,還一直說這裡太好了、太好玩了。媽媽在一邊抿著嘴笑。師父罵我哭什麼。爸爸安慰我說不要難過,總有一天還會再相聚的。」放下電話後,我那僵硬緊張的身體整個就鬆了下來。對呀,哭什麼,世上有幾個人能有像父親這樣的福報,走得如此尊嚴呢?我們應該為他慶幸和感恩才是。

 等了很久,終於有人出來告訴我們「對不起」了。通常他們規定三小時之內必須將遺體送走的,然而醫院應我們之請,特許我們多留八小時,還撥出一間房間讓我們為父親打坐,而且全醫院的人都很溫馨友善地接待我們。八小時後有人來敲門,是急診室的護士長,來問有沒有需要幫忙的地方,我謝過她之後,她問可不可跟我談一下…,原來老天真的有祂的安排。

* * *

 她已在急診室工作了十多年,她說從來沒有見過哪一個人走得如此安詳,尤其她很好奇,因為今早當她宣告「對不起」時,我們居然能夠接受得那麼坦然,她說她很想知道原因。我一五一十地告訴了她,並邀她進來房間端詳父親紅潤帶笑的面容,同時拿起父親柔軟如生的雙手給她看,告訴她當年我母親走的時候也是這樣的,以至第二天殯儀館的人來搬運時不小心把我母親掉到地上去了。她看呆了,好心的她,居然為此跑到醫院的後門去等候殯儀館的人,只為了交代他們小心,別又把我父親掉到地上了。

 臨行時她給了我電話號碼說師父來時務必要通知她,兩個星期之後師父真的來了。巧的是她那天不值班,我約她早一點到道場以便有機會向她介紹師父以及觀音法門。印心的時間快到了,我請她慎重考慮,因為這是一件很神聖的事,而且要答應終身吃素,她很確定地告訴我說她已經準備好了,說她已經吃了五年的素,並說幾年前她心靈上受到一個無情的打擊,至今還在哀痛媯L法自拔,為了想得到內心的寧靜,她一直想學打坐,就這樣的,她印了心也見到了師父。

 五月堙A我約她出來見了一次面,看看她有沒有修行的問題,並借給她一些英文雜誌和錄影帶。那天她很高興,告訴我說她的心情好多了,體驗也很好。以後我們各自忙碌也找不到對方。十一月突然接到她的電話,說她的父親病危,她請了兩個月的假要回紐澤西州老家,問我那些借她的錄影帶要如何處理?我建議她帶回去給她的父親看,以便到時師父可以帶領他往生。她聽了好激動,說她也不知道為什麼會突然打電話給我,不過她很慶幸她打了。隔年的一月,她來電話了,告訴我她的父親已於十二月往生了,跟我父親當時的情形一樣,面帶笑容並且紅潤,身體也是柔軟如生,她的家人也是為此驚訝不已。……

* * *

 我們選擇星期六出殯,以便親友們來告別,弟妹們都到了,星期五晚上我們一起去參加小共修,打坐時化身師父來告訴妹妹說讓父親在道場往生是為了提醒同修,我們修行的人離開的時候就要像個君子大丈夫,還說很高興看到同修們自動自發的愛心,將打坐的功德分給別人,同時師父還讓妹妹看到同修們打完坐後將功德迴向給我父親時,光波一陣一陣的拍打在父親身上的光景。父親在上面很感謝的說:「夠了,夠了,你們自己留著用。」葬禮那天,幾乎所有認識的同修都來了,放佛讚時大家不約而同地合唱起來,妹妹看到牆上高掛的師父法相不停地放光加持著整個會場,並看到化身師父將父親扶坐在棺木上盤腿而坐,當大家向他的遺體告別致敬時,父親被大家的愛心感動得含著淚水、一一地向每一個人回禮。他告訴妹妹大家為他佈置的花太漂亮了。當蓋棺的時候,妹妹突然感到要窒息和驚慌,爸爸還安慰她:「別怕,我在外面。」幾乎所有的親友事後都說這是他們一生中參加過最溫馨的葬禮。

 在此順便再提我的母親,她於十年前往生,五年多以前她已換下白衣、身著菩薩服到第五界去了,有時當妹妹打坐時她會來看妹妹,還告訴妹妹說:「我是為了帶領您們小孩回『家』才來到人間。」從母親一生為人與眾不同,以及我家裡在遇到師父之前、之後所發生的種種奇遇,我知道在我們還沒出生之前就和師父約好要「相會」的,而且就像我的父親一樣,生前被照顧,身後也被照顧,直到永遠…。

愛海之旅
清海無上師與觀音法門
一個真正回教徒的體驗
健康指數的奇蹟
緣會仙界古明師
我的父親

Make your own free website on
Confirmation supported by all evidences

My Dad

By sister initiate Tan Yu-ying, Los Angeles, California, USA

My grandmother died three months after giving birth to my father, leaving him an orphan. He grew up during wartime and became a general in his early thirties. Since my childhood, I thought that his desire to wield "absolute control" over everything was a result of his long-time career as an army general. He was young and so assertive that every member of our family was terrified of him and his temper. But it was only recently that I realized that his desire to control everything was due to his extreme insecurity. These feelings of insecurity may be traced to his infancy. As he advanced in years, he found himself losing control over many things, and became apprehensive and even more insecure. He was afraid to spend money or even enjoy the simplest pleasures of life. He was haunted by the thought that disaster might strike unless he took precautions in advance. Actually, the biggest disaster in his life was the fear that he clung to so tightly.

However, after his initiation and his experiences during my mother's passing, his faith grew and he gained a sense of security that he had never known before. Father became a totally different person. He was very happy and found contentment in even the smallest things. He became a father who was extremely easy to please. Whatever you did for him, he would be happy like a child. He gained a passion for life, which drew people to him. He loved life. He loved his friends! Love, like sunshine, warmed him and others. For all these changes, we must thank Master and the gift She bestowed on him -- the fearlessness that let him enjoy the most beautiful time in his life even after losing his wife.

Even at the age of 85, my father was in very good health and great spirits. He enjoyed traveling between Formosa and the United States, staying for short periods with each of his sons and daughters. At the end of 1995, he flew from Boston back to Los Angeles. As soon as he arrived, he asked my youngest sister and myself to invite all the local initiates and Convenient Method practitioners to dinner, so he could express his gratitude for their kindness. He made arrangements for his property and told us how he wanted his funeral to be held. We thought he was just looking for something to do and thought little of the implications of his words.

Despite the rain on February 25, 1996, he went to group meditation with my younger sister as usual and chatted with my aunt in the car. Not long after meditation began, the guards came looking for my youngest sister. We ran to where my father was, and saw a few sisters doing artificial respiration on him. I stood in a state of shock. My youngest sister pulled me to the side and said, "Now I know why father said three days ago that he saw the manifestation form of Master, and She had blinked Her eyes and smiled at him."

The ambulance came and rushed Dad to a suburban hospital. As soon as I got there, I called a younger sister who was living in another state, whereupon she immediately went to meditate. A few minutes later, the phone rang, and in describing her inner experience she said, "Dad has gone! Master took him to Mom. He looked so young, as if he were in his twenties or thirties. He was very excited and was running around like a kid and looking at everything. He kept saying that it's so much fun there! Master scolded me for crying. Mom just smiled while Dad comforted me and told me not to be upset, since we will be seeing each other again." After I hung up the phone, I felt my tense and rigid body relax. She was right. I thought to myself, "Why should we cry? How many people could have great merit like father's so as to be able to pass away with such dignity? We should rejoice for him and be grateful on his behalf."

After waiting for a long time, someone finally came out and said "Sorry" to us. According to the rules at the hospital where my father died, a deceased person should be transferred away from the wards within three hours of death. However, the hospital granted our request for our father to remain for eight hours, and even gave us a room where we could meditate for him. Everyone at the hospital treated us kindly and warmly. After eight hours, we heard a knock. It was the head nurse of the emergency wards. She asked if there was anything she could do for us. After I had thanked her, she asked if she could talk to me. It turned out that it was all God's plan.

The nurse had been working in the emergency wards for more than ten years, but she said that she had never seen anyone leave the world in such peace and tranquillity. She was especially curious as to why we had accepted our father's death so calmly that morning. I told her the reasons and invited her into the room to see my father's ruddy complexion and smiling face. I also showed her his hands, which were still soft and flexible. I told her that my mother's body was in the same, flexible state when she had died, and the pallbearers had dropped her body on the floor when they were removing it a day after she passed away. The nurse found this incredible! She was so good-hearted that she waited for the pallbearers at the back entrance of the hospital, just to ask them to be careful not to drop my father's body.

When we left, she gave me her phone number and asked me to contact her if Master came to town. Master came two weeks later, and luckily, the nurse was not on duty at the hospital that day. I invited her to come early to the Center so I could have time to tell her about Master and the Quan Yin Method. When the time of her initiation approached, I suggested that she seriously consider her sacred decision, which also entails a lifelong vegetarian diet. She answered me with all certainty that she was ready and that she had already been a vegetarian for five years. She had suffered a mental blow some years earlier and was still in deep sorrow. She had always wanted to learn meditation to attain inner tranquillity. So, on that day she received initiation and met with Master.

In May 1996, we met and I asked if she had any questions about spiritual practice. I lent her some English News magazines and videotapes of Master's lectures. She was in very good spirits that day and told me that she felt much better and had been having very good inner experiences. Later, we were both so busy that we lost touch with each other. Then, in November, I suddenly received a call from her. Her father was seriously ill and she had taken a two-month leave to return to New Jersey to be with him. She asked me how to handle the tapes that I had lent her. I suggested that she take them with her and play them for her father so that Master could take him Home. She was overcome with emotion and was thankful that she had made that call, even though she did not know why she had done it. In January 1997, she called me again to say that her father had passed away a month earlier and, just like my father, had left with a ruddy complexion, smiling face, and soft body, much to the surprise of her family.

And now, let's get back to my father. His funeral ceremony was held on a Saturday so that all our relatives and friends could come to bid him a final farewell. All my brothers and sisters were present. On Friday night, we went to group meditation together. There, Master's manifestation form appeared to my younger sister and said that father had died at the Center in order to remind fellow initiates that we practitioners should pass away like true gentlemen. And Master added that She was very happy to see fellow initiates sharing their love and offering their merits gained through meditation to others.

At the end of the meditation session, as fellow initiates were offering their merits to my father, Master let my sister see as the waves of light hit my father one after another, and my father exclaimed in gratitude, "Enough! Enough! Please save them for yourselves."

On the day of the funeral, almost every initiate we knew attended. Everyone sang along with Master's Buddha's chanting tape, and my sister saw Master's picture on the wall radiate light and blessings over the arena. She also saw Master's manifestation form hold my father up to sit cross-legged on his coffin. When we bowed to him in farewell, his eyes filled with tears of appreciation as he bowed in response. He told my sister that the floral decorations given by the initiate brothers and sisters were very pretty. Just as the lid was placed on the coffin, my sister was suddenly overcome by a feeling of suffocation and fear, but my father comforted her, saying, "Don't worry. I am outside." Almost all of our relatives agreed that this was the most touching funeral ceremony that they had ever attended.

Let me also mention a few things about my mother who had passed away about ten years previously. Five years ago, she had already changed her white garb for the robes of the Bodhisattvas when she rose to the fifth level. Sometimes, while my sister was meditating, she would appear, and once she said, "I came to the world to bring you, my children, Home." My mother was unique in many ways and we were blessed with many miracles in my family before and after we met Master. I know that, before we were born, we had arranged to meet with Master in this world and just as She took care of my father, She will also take care of us in this life and in the hereafter, until eternity.

Ocean Of Love Tour
The Supreme Master And The Quan Yin Method
A True Muslim's Experience
Miracle Of the Health Index
Meeting an Ancient Master
My Dad